6 Reasons why Science Fiction is the new Paranormal

by Kate

Think SF is too hardcore? Too bogged down in details? Not sexy enough for a paranormal reader like you? We beg to differ…

  1. Worlds – same, same, but different
    Just as in paranormals, much in a science fiction world is quite familiar, but with a few key changes. Whether it’s set on a space ship, a distant planet, or a dystopian Earth, there is enough that is familiar to ease your way into the world, but enough different to add a bit of spice and excitement.

    stargate-the-movie-e

    Stargate – the movie

     

  2. Sexy heroes – the galaxy is your oyster
    Whether it’s the strong warrior, the diplomatic politician, or the unflappable scientist, the universe is populated with gorgeous new heroes, just waiting for you to find them.

    the warrior hero - Chris Pine as Captain Kirk

    the warrior hero – Chris Pine as Captain Kirk

    The moral outlaw - Nathan Fillion as Captain Mal Reynolds

    The moral outlaw – Nathan Fillion as Captain Mal Reynolds

    Logic has never been sexier - Zachary Quinto as Spock

    Logic has never been sexier – Zachary Quinto as Spock

    Humour and strength - Will Smith in Independence Day

    Humour and strength – Will Smith in Independence Day

    The unlikely hero - Bruce Willis in The 5th Element

    The unlikely hero – Bruce Willis in The 5th Element

     

  3. Strong heroines – kicking alien butt
    Kick-ass, anti-, or just complex, three-dimensional heroines, Science Fiction features an array of women taking care of business in an array of situations, from facing down alien abductors or setting up planetary governments, to kicking some inter-galactic ass. Looking for strong female characters? You’ll find them in SF.

    Jean Grey - the most powerful of the X-warriors. Sure she almost kills everyone, but everyone has off days.

    Jean Grey – the most powerful of the X-warriors. Sure she almost kills everyone, but everyone has off days.

    Dana Scully - the smart, sceptical scientist that holds the X-files together

    Dana Scully – the smart, sceptical scientist that holds the X-files together

     

    Ellen Ripley - the warrior heroine of the Alien series

    Ellen Ripley – the warrior heroine of the Alien series

    Sarah Manning in Orphan Black - an anti-heroine chasing down answers behind an apparent cloning - hers.

    Sarah Manning in Orphan Black – an anti-heroine chasing down answers behind an apparent cloning – hers.

     

  4. High stakes
    Whether it’s planet-wide destruction, a chilling villain, or war on a galactic scale, something is always going on in SF that drives the relationship stakes into the atmosphere.

    Luke - I disapprove of your girlfriend...

    Luke – I disapprove of your girlfriend…

     

  5. Favourite tropes, with a twist
    Bodyguards, arranged marriages, damsels who can save themselves from their own distress (but get a little help along the way), friends-to-lovers, even billionaire playboys – just throw the word ‘space’ in front of them, and you’ve got an SF plot, just waiting to be written or read!

    Or, in this case, superhero genius inventor boss hero meets capable, intelligent, organised assistant/secretary heroine

    Or, in this case, superhero genius inventor boss hero meets capable, intelligent, organised assistant/secretary heroine

     

  6. Happy ever after ending guaranteed
    fifth-elementStar Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi (1983)giphy-facebook_s.jpgRikerTroiwedding

Who’s your SF OTP? Let us know below (pictures optional, but wholly encouraged!) for a chance to win a selection of books and upcoming ARCs from our science fiction catalogue!


Whetted your appetite for some sexy SF? Check out some Escape titles below!

21764

From Escape’s fresh, exhilarating science fiction romance catalogue comes a story of corporate espionage, betrayal, sex, and bodyguards. Just another day in the colonies.


19729

What if your only chance at survival was to seduce the man who broke your heart?


 

8867The first book in SE Gilchrist’s bestselling erotic Sci-Fi series about a dark and delicious alien race on a desperate quest for survival — and the human women who can cure their years-long curse.


20382For fans of The Walking Dead and The Hunger Games comes a YA novel about freedom, choice and family — and the terrifying disease that makes them mutually exclusive.

 

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “6 Reasons why Science Fiction is the new Paranormal

  1. Ooh, so torn between Mal and Inara from Firefly and John and Aerin from Farscape. Third woudl probably be Mulder/Scully. Though bookwise, I am a Daav and Aelliana from Sharon Lee and Steven Miller’s Liaden books fan. Okay, stopping now. Love a good SF romance!

  2. Pingback: Cruisin’ with RWA | Romance Writers of Australia

  3. I can’t believe no one has mentioned Han Solo and Princess Leia. I always love to watch her tell him ‘I love you’ and for him to smile and say ‘I know’. I was a kid when I first saw it and it never gets old. It’s my SF version of ‘you had me at hello’
    I’d also go for River Song and Dr Who. Time crossed lovers, his first meeting with her ended up with her pseudo-death. It was clever plot twist.

  4. In books it would be Aral and Cordelia from Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan series. On screen, I’ve always had a soft spot for the tragic, short-lived love of Kyle Reese and Sarah Connor in The Terminator. For more mature love, Admiral Adama and President Roslin in the Battlestar Gallactica reboot was captivating.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s