RT Post 9 – The City of New Orleans

In which Kate makes friends with a beautiful city.

Part of the draw of this year’s RT was without a doubt the location. I’m not surprised that RT had over 2500 registered attendees – more than, say, Kansas City in 2013. RT took strong advantage of the beauty and majesty of its setting and debuted out-of-conference events for the first time, including Mardi Gras World and a Bourbon Street Pub Crawl.

There was also no catering included in the conference this year, so that gave ample opportunity to grab a few friends and try both famous eateries and hidden gems. And taking an hour out of the day to walk the streets became a very popular pass time.

But, guys. The food!

Brie-stuffed French toast with a brandy glaze and mulberry sauce.

Brie-stuffed French toast with a brandy glaze and mulberry sauce. GAH! It was divine.

This was, without exception, the *sweetest* thing I have ever had to drink.

This was, without exception, the *sweetest* thing I have ever had to drink.

Beignets. The only thing you need.

Beignets. The only thing you need.

I visited New Orleans Cemetary #1, to pay my respects to the Voodoo Queen:

Marie Laveau's tomb, complete with offerings.

Marie Laveau’s tomb, complete with offerings.

The Italian Association tomb

The Italian Association tomb

The cemetery is pretty run down, and then took a beating during Katherine.

The cemetery is pretty run down, and then took a beating during Katherine.

The older family tombs often had protective gates, as well as marble and iron doors.

The older family tombs often had protective gates, as well as marble and iron doors.

On the streets of New Orleans:

that ride is pimped...

that ride is pimped…

There is music everywhere, and in the French Quarter, it's not unusual for streets to shut down to accommodate a pop-up concert.

There is music everywhere, and in the French Quarter, it’s not unusual for streets to shut down to accommodate a pop-up concert.

They also cater for the rental markets,  complete with housemates - corporeal or otherwise.

They also cater for the rental markets, complete with housemates – corporeal or otherwise.

You can also get your voodoo needs met - from good luck charms to curses for your enemies.

You can also get your voodoo needs met – from good luck charms to curses for your enemies.

This is (allegedly) the oldest bar in the USA. My companion said the inside looked like something out of Harry Potter (it totally did)

This is (allegedly) the oldest bar in the USA. My companion said the inside looked like something out of Harry Potter (it totally did)

Balconies don't have support poles. Terraces do. Everyone hangs out on them regardless.

Balconies don’t have support poles. Terraces do. Everyone hangs out on them regardless.

Finally, Old Man River himself, the Mississippi.

Finally, Old Man River himself, the Mississippi.

New Orleans is an absolutely gorgeous city, and I left feeling like I had barely scratched the surface of all it had to offer. It was an inspired place to hold a conference, and one of the most welcoming places to play tourist.

(I do wish it were a bit easier to find a vegetable though!)

This concludes my travelogue of the RT Conference. I hope you enjoyed it! I still have 5 (five) USB keys loaded up with Escape Titles left over. If you’d like to win one, leave a comment on the blog letting me know what you liked most about the coverage, or what you’d most like to see at RT or New Orleans and include your email address in the comment. I will randomly choose 5 comments to win the USB keys! This contest will close 1 June 2014. Best of luck!

11 thoughts on “RT Post 9 – The City of New Orleans

  1. Hello Kate, I loved the coverage and I can’t choose between the initial post and post 7 as a favourite. I worked in the States for a while and the initial post had me flash backing. My Boss made me drive a truck from Portland Oregon to Phoenix Arizona 3 times in a week. I only had a few hours of practice getting use to the gear stick being in the wrong place. Post 7 -Book Chaos- had my head spinning. I don’t think I could handle that many people in one room but it sounded like you had a great day.
    kathrynflaherty-at-Hotmail.com

  2. When we were in NOLA at Christmas I visited the same cemetery and Marie’s tomb was painted pink. Someone came in during the night and painted it. Now I see they’ve either scraped it off or repainted it. How cool I loved that cemetery and I have the exact same picture of the Italian Association tomb

  3. HI KATE
    I’VE BEEN ENJOYING YOUR BLOG. NEW ORLEANS IS A SPECIAL PLACE. LOVED THIS BLOG THE MOST BUT I THINK I WAS INFLUENCED BY THE FOOD. DID YOU GET YOUR FORTUNE TOLD?
    BEST
    CATHLEEN

    • Hi Cathleen
      I was sorely tempted by the scads of fortune tellers and palm readers scattered around the city, but I never had time to stop and have a reading done. I wonder what they would have told me?? 🙂
      Kate

  4. I just love living vicariously through your posts! One day, I’d love to visit New Orleans. And I know what you mean about struggling to find a vegetable! My meat-eating son bemoaned the lack of vegies when we visited the West coast a few years ago. Sounds like it’s been a wonderful trip, Kate.

  5. I hope I get to go to a RT conference one day. Loved sharing your adventures, especially the food!

  6. New Orleans sounds like so much fun. I’d love to do one of the ghost torus and eats beignets. Possibly at the same time.

    Hankts AT internode DOT on DOT net.

  7. Hi, Kate
    All of your coverage was wonderful-thank you. I particularly loved hearing all about The Harlem Shuffle. It sounds like such a wonderful night. It is definitely something Australia should adopt, along with the amazing food you shared!
    Thank you
    Megan
    megan.colville@uqconnect.edu.au

Leave a Reply

